Sunday, Funday!

You can tell that summer has arrived! Finally, it’s warm enough to go out and get a sun tan. This year will be different for my family, though. Why is that? Well, as you may know (or hey, maybe you don’t!) I left my job at Dicks Sporting Goods, about two months ago but before I left, my parents decided to invest in some kayaks with my awesome discount! So, WE HAVE KAYAKS NOW, YAY!

So, as you can probably guess… my mother and I went kayaking on this beautiful sunny Sunday!

FullSizeRender

We usually go to Pinchot State Park in PA. Pinchot is a beautiful park surrounding a pretty huge lake. There are a ton of different entrances and boating docks at different locations all around the lake. Are boat dock was located an hour from the location of the photo above. What a beautiful, hot day Sunday. I still can’t get over how much fun I had that day.

Have you thought about purchasing a kayak yet? Or maybe you’re trying to find the right time? Well, that is what we (my mother and I) thought when the idea crossed our minds, “Oh, we should probably wait and see…” or “We should wait and see next year” or “next season…” same old same old. But, we finally bit the bullet and got ourselves two kayaks. Now, we bought our kayaks at Dicks Sporting Goods which is what I mentioned above.. but you can find kayaks at a cheaper cost online. I’m sure you can find great deals on Amazon, but let me do the hard work for you and simply show you a few awesome kayaks that I found already with some pretty awesome prices!

Here are a few great Kayaks to check out:

  1. Sun Dolphin Aruba Sit-in Kayak (Lime, 10-Feet)
  2. Lifetime Tioga Sit-On-Top Kayak with Paddle (2 Pack), Lime, 120″
  3. BKC UH-RA220 11.5 foot Riptide Angler Sit On Top Fishing Kayak with Paddles and Upright Chair and Rudder System Included (Camo)

Kayaking can be expensive to start, but I guarantee you, they will last for a long, long time and it’s such a great outdoor activity and not to mention an amazing workout!

FullSizeRender-3

Also, who doesn’t love a nice relaxing day on the water, soaking up the sun while you take a break from paddling!?

Speaking of paddles, if you seriously are considering kayaking, let’s talk about accessories that come with purchasing kayaks.

A paddle is a given. You can’t row yourself down a stream without a paddle, right?! You also need a few extra things as well… such as a life jacket (those are required on your boat, but for most places not required to wear them), whistle, paddle connector (connects to your paddle and your boat), kayak car mount, and kayak garage hanger, boat launch permit (for State waters).

I know, I know.. I feel like I can see right through this screen at your eyes popping out of your skull with the items needed to kayak!! I promise you, it will be all worth it in the end.

You also can’t forget your sunscreen, coolers filled with beverages and sandwiches as well as your sunglasses for those bright sunny days and maybe a little tanning lotion to give yourself a little treat when you’re laying out sun bathing away.

FullSizeRender

I guess I just kinda sounded like a sales lady for a little bit there, didn’t I? Well, I’ve worked in retail for over six years, so I’ve had some experience with it to the point where, I sometimes don’t know that I am doing it! I’ve had a lot of practice, haha!

Let’s talk a minute about my new found love for kayaking!

The different sounds you hear on the water is completely different then the sounds you hear off the water, when you’re hiking or just sitting on the shore line with your toes in the water. What is fascinating is when you’re on the water, sound travels so much faster and clearer than it does when you’re not on the water. You can hear conversations from miles upstream, so interesting… isn’t it? (okay, someone told me that and I believe it because I’ve tested it out these last two weeks being in my kayak).

What I love most about kayaking, is the relaxation you feel just floating there. I practice meditation and I try to be mindful of the present moment rather than figuring out what I am going to do later that evening or the list of stuff I have to do that has yet to get done and when I am in my kayak floating, I am quiet. Listening to nature itself and to my surprise, my mind is quiet (which usually never happens).

But moving on, it was a beautiful end to my weekend. I am so looking forward to my three week break from work to spend a few of those days, kayaking before heading off to my vacations for the month of June!

Is anyone else leaving in June for any vacations and you’re super excited for, like me?! Feel free to comment below, your trips and/or vacation ideas! I love to travel so of course, I would love to hear your future trip and vacation plans! 

(Hi, my sales lady senses are back) Below, I am adding a few extra links to some items that you may need if you are seriously thinking about purchasing kayaks, or HECK, maybe you already have a kayak and you need some other accessories.There is no pressure in needing to purchase a single thing today, but I’ve listed everything you need here, so you don’t have to go searching the Internet yourself for them, so feel free to click and browse… the links are there for you.

Important Stuff:

1. Kayak Paddle
2. Whistles
3. Life Jackets
4. Car Mount
5. Kayak Garage Hanger

FullSizeRender-2

I hope everyone had an amazing weekend and just like us all, we can’t wait for this coming weekend!

 

Have a blessed day, everyone!

Leave a Reply

